Skip to content
humanoidrobot.build

Every way to get it

Get LEAP Hand

Carnegie Mellon University · open hardware

Buy it from the maker, source the parts yourself, print or outsource the printed parts, or hire someone who has built one. Same numbers, side by side, then a helper that picks one for your budget, tools, time and experience.

Maker sale
Not sold by the maker
Parts, best region
$1,772+ US
Printer time
—
Fully buildable
yes
Fig 1/4RenderLEAP Hand studio render, three-quarter front view
Studio render of the published MJCF, the model's zero pose. Geometry only; colours are the model's own materials.© Rendered by Hyperspawn from mujoco_menagerie/leap_hand (MIT) · Hyperspawn render · source
Ship parts to
01

Side by side

Figures from the package · US prices
A

Buy from the maker

Not offered
What you getNot sold by the maker. The registry lists no maker sale for this robot.
Cost—
Time—
Tools—
Skill—
Unknowns—
No store link
B

Source the parts

16/17 priced
What you getA cart of 17 BOM lines (41 parts) across vendors, maker's store first.
Cost$1,772+1 lines unpriced.
  • IN$1,772 · 16 n/a
  • US$1,772
  • EU$1,772 · 16 n/a
  • CN$1,772 · 16 n/a
Vendor price where stated, else the package list price. n/a = lines with no vendor there.
TimeAssembly time not stated13 steps without a timePackage caveat: The LEAP Purchase page says the ROBOTIS/Dexbotics partnership has ended, so ROBOTIS no longer sells LEAP Dynamixel kits or assembled hands through it, though the ROBOTIS bundle page still loads. Third-party assembled hands (Amazon, Taobao) are not affiliated with LEAP.
ToolsFDM printer (Ender 3 S1 used upstream; direct drive needed for flexible filament) · Cura 5 · Soldering iron (250 °C) · PH00 Phillips screwdriver (a motorised one is recommended) · M2/M3 hex keys · +9 more
SkillSoldering, crimping. 13 steps4 safety-critical
Unknowns
  • 1 line prices
  • Shipping, duties, taxes
C

Print it, or have it printed

17 printed
What you get17 printed parts.
Cost—No grams in the package, so no filament cost. Print services quote from the files.
TimePrint time not stated.
ToolsFDM printerMinimum bed not stated
SkillPLA
Unknowns
  • 17 parts with no grams or hours
  • Print-service prices
  • Largest part size
D

Hire a builder

Certified at L5
What you getSomeone who has built this robot assembles it for you, or with you.
CostQuoteParts plus labour. No builder rates are published yet.
TimeSet with the builder.
ToolsNone
SkillNone
Unknowns
  • No certified teams yet: certification needs L5, LEAP Hand is L2.
  • Availability near you
02

Which way is yours

Rules, not a model · every reason is shown
Tools you have
Time
Experience
Recommended pathquote

Hire a builder

  • ✓No tools, no skill needed.
  • !No certified teams yet (needs L5; LEAP Hand is L2).
Go
  1. 02Source parts, use a print serviceNeeds soldering or crimping; you have no soldering iron ticked.$1,772 + print quote
  2. 03Source parts, print at homeNeeds an FDM printer; you have none ticked.$1,772+
03

Build readiness

What makes a robot fully buildable
  • ■Open hardware (CAD + BOM public)yes
  • ■Build package compiledyes
  • ■BOM lines with a vendor17/17
  • ■Fabrication list6 entries
  • ■Assembly steps, each with a check13/13
  • ■Firmware describedyes
04

Honest unknowns

What this page cannot tell you
  • 1 of 17 BOM lines carry no price.
  • Lines with no vendor, by region: IN 16, EU 16, CN 16.
  • 17 printed parts have neither grams nor print time.
  • 13 assembly steps have no time estimate.
  • Resale and used units: not tracked.
  • Shipping, duties and taxes: not included anywhere on this page.

Lead-time notes from the package

  • Package caveat The LEAP Purchase page says the ROBOTIS/Dexbotics partnership has ended, so ROBOTIS no longer sells LEAP Dynamixel kits or assembled hands through it, though the ROBOTIS bundle page still loads. Third-party assembled hands (Amazon, Taobao) are not affiliated with LEAP.